Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reddirt_gw

first time at farmers market

reddirt
17 years ago

this is my first year selling flowers at a farmers market. i have a few questions....

1 - what perennials or annuals make very short-lived cut flowers? so i can avoid these

2 - i have not a clue how to determine what to charge for a bouquet

3 - what do customers expect as far as packaging goes. i would like to be as "green" as possible in that regard

thanks very much, lisa

Comment (1)

• spivey13
    17 years ago

Hi Lisa,

Good luck with the Market! I'm sure you will learn a lot this summer, have a good time, and be even more ready next year!

I've gone to several small markets last year, and finally made it into a bigger city market this year. I thought I'd jump in with a couple of suggestions. A lot of the very knowledgeable people on this forum are incredibly busy this time of year, so they probably won't have time to write complete, specific answers to your questions. By the way, have you read any good Market books? The Flower Farmer by Lynn Byczinski (sp?) is a great start--lots of suggestions for flowers, what to do and not to do--you can probably borrow it from a local or regional library for starters. There are a lot of other books out there, but I know that's the one that piqued my interest in the beginning.

As to your questions:

#1 Instead of focusing on what not to plant, look at what to plant. There is another new farmer on this forum who recently planted her "Newbie Flower list", and it is very extensive and a great place to start--plus everyone else's comments, etc. Do a search of this forum with those words, and I know you will find some good items. If you have specific questions about whether or not something you already have is a good cutflower, you could post those.