Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
goshawker

Winter returned, frost -bit shrub advice needed

goshawker
18 years ago

Well, after 3 weeks of above normal temps(20+) that had me going like a madman we have had 2 weeks of below normal temps. For the last 10 days it hasn't been above 42 degrees and the last 6 nights it's been below freezing, last night was the worst at 21 degrees. Needless to say, everything that was making a run for it got nailed. Two hundred Mock Orange and 200 Bridal Wreath shrubs got all their leaves fried. Since I'm new to the flowering shrub game, I was wondering if anybody knows if they will bounce back or if they are toast. I was thinking on cutting them back to the ground and hope for re-growth instead of them trying to bud new foliage on the damaged bud area. I've got a call in to my shrub guy but he's out of town right now.

It looks like we've finally turned the corner with a high in the 50's today but it's supposed to freeze again tonight for the last time this week. It will be nice to not be tilling while it is snowing, that was just plain depressing.

Steve

Comments (7)

• Miss EFF
    18 years ago

I feel your pain, Steve. We hit 25 and although some things made it thru ok --other things are toast. And will they take the 2nd freeze tonight?

Not to wedge in on your thread -- but how about Asiatic lilies? Some look great --but I have some that were 12-15" tall and they don't look too good!!!

I'm not sure whether to swear or to cry --- any advice is welcome.

Clink

• goshawker
    Original Author
    18 years ago

It's been a weird spring Clink. Can't help you with the lillies but my shrub guy got back to me and told me to go out and bend a few branches. He said if they are still green and rubbery then it should bud back out fine. He said if the stems are brittle at all I should cut them back because the branches won't be able to support any leaves and will ehaust the plants reserves trying to do so.

Good luck,

Steve

• flowers4u