Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steve22802

Cutting advice for Baptisia?

steve22802
14 years ago

I've got two Baptisia australis plants that are about ready to cut but I've never used them as cut flowers before. Does anyone have any tips regarding what stage to cut them at and do they continue to open in the vase? Also what sort of vase life have you experienced?

Thanks!

Steve

Comments (4)

• teresa_b
    14 years ago

Hi Steve,

According to Armitage, flowers are harvested when approximately 1/3 of the flowers on the inflorescence are open. Some growers cut when just a few flowers are open (not more than 1/3) but all the buds are colored. If left in the field too long, they will shatter. Another grower cuts two to three feet main stems and then obtains additional side branches which can be cut or left to develop seed pods.

Pods start green and eventually turn black. Not all inflorescences produce pods so do not expect the same yield of fruit as flowers. They can be harvested when they are green, but better contrast between leaves and fruit occurs if they are brown to black. Waiting too long is not recommended if the foliage is an important part of the "podded" stem as it turns black in the fall and declines rapidly.

Growers who cut into a hydrating solution report postharvest life of 7-10 days. Warm water in the bucket is especially recommended.

Teresa

P.S. I love baptisia and one of mine has been blooming for two weeks. It is one of the hybrids.

• steve22802
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thanks Teresa, I cut some yesterday and I'll be cutting more on Friday morning for the Saturday market. It's nice to learn that there are some other colors available. Do you have other varieties you would recommend? I actually raised my two plants from seed. They took about 3 years to flower and are the standard indigo color.

• teresa_b
    14 years ago