Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
owlhollow

short list for cut flowers

owlhollow
15 years ago

This is my first year growing cut flowers. I made to many mistakes to continue without help and advice. I am looking for a short list to start with and grow from there. I have tried to research but the lists always end up to long. How about your ten best suggestions, yep only ten!

Thanks guys,

owl

Comments (24)

• bfff_tx
    15 years ago

These in MHO are a piece of cake - good luck

Zinnias (A)
    Sunflowers (A)
    Amazon Neon Dianthus (P)
    Marigolds (A)
    Amaranthus (A)
    Yarrow - (Cottage types "Summer Pastels or Berries ")
    Tuberoses (P)
    Millets (A)
    Gomphrena (A)
    Larkspur (A)
    Statice (A)

Kim - Billabong Fresh Flower Farm

• owlhollow
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Kim, Thank you so much for answering my post. It was very helpfull. This has been a learning experience for me and boy do I have alot to learn. I bought alot of plants that didn't come up at all and I was very disappionted. Next year will be better.
    Thanks again
    owl

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    15 years ago

I've only been at this a few years, but my top ten would be:

zinnias
    sunflowers
    chinese asters
    echinacea
    rudbeckia
    amaranthus
    dahlias
    snapdragons
    celosia
    statice

I like using phlox for a beautiful fragrant bloom, but it's not very long-lasting for me. The individual blooms are kind of fragile and fall off easily. I use it, but make sure to have lots of other long-lasting flowers in the bouquet too.

Good luck to you!
    :)
    Dee

• owlhollow
    Original Author
    15 years ago

Dee, Also a great list. I have to look up a couple I didn't know. I am not sure what zone you are in but I have trouble growing dahlias. Also Kim, this is my first year growing tuberose- a bit expensive. Thanks to both of you for your suggestions.
    owl

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    15 years ago