Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicucoll_gw

Acouple questions (I'm a newbie!)

nicucoll
18 years ago

Hi all, I've just stopped by acouple days ago...usually i'm on the cottage garden forum...this is a wonderful forum also...i'm addicted to this now..although i'm basically new to gardening..i'm so eager to learn and want to plant everything i see...i have acouple questions if anyone can help me out...thanks and i just love seeing pics of your gardens/flowers...

1)Just wondering where are some good websites/catalogs to order from....around here there isn't a big selection of plants...

2)I have mostly full sun and my front garden daytime shade..what are some good plants to try growing?

3)Do you all use plant food,etc on your plants..(like I said really new to gardening that is probably a silly question though)

4) Any good websites/books that might show some floral arrangements,etc...for some ispiration...thanks a garden bunch!!!

Comments (4)

• DapperDahlia
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I'll go through as many questions as i can ;o)
    1) Michigan Bulb (google these because i cant remeber the acuall web pages) has a large selection of plants and they ship at planting time. Swan Island has a large selection of dahlias, those would be good since you said your yard gets full sun. I'm sure you'd be able to find many other places if you went to froogle.com and knew what you were looking for. Or you could find a place on google just look around.
    2)Like i said dahlias, sunflowers, hydrangea, mexican shell flowers, there are MANY options but it may be to late for many of them.
    3)My mom and I fertilize our flower/gourd/veggie patches but because my dad is a fertilizer salesman that part isnt very hard for me.
    4)There are a lot of pictures of boquets in this forum if you look through all the pages. One lady in particular shows her a lot of her boquets and they are GORGEOUS!
    Have fun!
    Carrie

• susiq
    18 years ago