Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bryan_ut

weather

bryan_ut
18 years ago

I can not believe this weather. I am about 1/2 through with planting and it is SNOWING today. We usually get a light frost through the 15th of June, but snow!!

I hope everyone is doing better then me.

Comments (6)

• susiq
    18 years ago

I feel like I'm a Dust Bowl farmer. Just came in from 2 hours of weeding in the midday (wrong time, of course, but that's when I got there), and EVERYTHING is DRY DRY DRY. I get little clouds of dust when my foot scoots in the dirt. There are CRACKS in my soil it's so dry. I watered everything pretty good late Sunday night, and the dahlias are wilting again, my very few little zinnias are crinkling their leaves, even the weeds seem to be gasping for water! I don't like to water mid-day, so my poor plants will have to wait a few more hours before I can water them again.

We haven't gotten good rain in probably a month, maybe more. While I was out there a cloud came over and 10 raindrops fell, and the temps cooled for about thirty seconds. THAT'S IT!

I was hoping to sow a bunch of seeds out there today, but now I'm not sure. I don't know if the drought or the grasshoppers would get them first!

Bryan, I'm sorry, and shocked, that it's SNOWING where you are, but I sure would like that front to pick up speed and come down here! MAYBE we'd get some rain! Hope you can protect your crops, or that they're "winter" hardy! LOL!

Susi.

• flowers4u
    18 years ago

Bryan -- I understand! It snowed on Mt. Hood yesterday and I'm not done planting either! However, it has stopped the downpours (which we desparately needed), but its now been cold too! I even have had fires in my woodstove in my barn/workspace to keep me and my starts warm! Hard to believe in Feb. I had temps in the high 70's and no rain and now rain and nothing about 60! It makes it hard to predict for customers what will be available when!!

I hope to get my zinnias planted tonight!
    Good luck!