Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krazykim_gw

Where to start........

KrazyKim
18 years ago

I so want to try growing cut flowers to sell, at a stand here at home, farmers markets, whatever. Eventually, I would like to dedicate raised beds to the adventure. Where do I start? Do I need a business license? How to price bouqets or stem prices........ Ugh. I have ideas, just don't know where to begin. Book sources.....ANY kind of suggestion I can research. Thank you so very much. And happy flowering :)

Comments (19)

• sgiesler
    18 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I am a beginner too. I loved the Organic Flower Farmer book by Lynn B. (sorry too tired to go look up the last name at the moment). I found Flowers for Sale (by Lee S.) to be a waste of money for the most part. Those are the only two that I have ordered so far. I am sure some of the experts on this board will answer your questions. This year I am starting my flower farming adventure. I don't have a business license yet. I am just trying my hand at growing different annual flowers like sunflowers and zinnias as well as planting perennials. I think it will take a year or two learning how before I will have a steady supply of flowers to sell. So for now, I will practice harvesting, conditioning and making boquets with what I have. Pink peonies and cute little tiny purple irises are all I have ready at the moment. Hubbies delphiniums are about to bloom. Wonder if he would miss them, lol. The lilies are starting to look as if they may bloom soon too. I am sure there is something else around here if I look hard enough. The little irises have a story to go with them. They are growing right where my tiger lilies have been for years. This year the plants came up vigorously but looked different than I recalled. I was waiting for the tiger lilies to bloom and next thing I know there are purple flowers peeking out. I have no idea where the irises came from that are taking over the tiger lily bed. Probably hubby