Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenlover_gw

Too late to sow perennial seeds

gardenlover
18 years ago

I am interested in beginning a basic perennial cutting garden. Mainly shasta daisies, purple coneflower and Black Eyed Susans. Is is too late to sow these seeds into the garden, and to expect blooms next year? Our 1st killing frost is generally Oct.5-10.

Also, still trying to decide on the Susans and Coneflower: I've read a lot of good about Rudbeckia Fulgida and Echinacea Purpurea. Any opinions as far as long bloom time, hardiness, strong stems, etc.?

I've always gardened vegetables, but have a growing passion for flowers. I'm a beginner here, so please forgive any silly questions.

Comments (11)

• KrazyKim
    18 years ago

I love those combinations! I'm not entirely sure about them blooming next year, but I'm sure you could plant the seeds............refering to the resident experts, however.
    They do increase greatly but I think mass plantings of susans, daisies, coneflowers along with Russian Sage is beautiful! My favorite time of summer, actually. Mine went in the fall of last year and they are just about to bloom, but from what I've seen around town, they have a long bloom time. Good luck!

• Noni Morrison
    18 years ago

Your bouquets will be more intersting if you add some other shapes. What about something tall and spiky like liatris or a mullein. I grow a creamy white one that is very pretty and not too refined for the wilder flowers. Something lacy like ammi majus or orlaya is very pretty mixed with them too and a bit less allergenic then Queen Anne's lace but with much the same effect.

And eare some fabulous new echinachea hybrids, like Art's Pride orange meadowbrite, MAngo, Sunrise, sunset, Moon something, and among the pinks there is razzle dazzle, doppleganger, ruby giant, etc. I am also trying Frangrant angel white ones this year.