Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
emxry

New to selling cut flowers and need advice please

emxry
18 years ago

I am new to selling cut flowers at markets and need any advice you can give me!

What's the best tip you have?

Let's start a thread and thank you so much for your advice!

Catherine

Comments (6)

• purplepinkpolka
    18 years ago

No reason to reinvent the wheel every time, esp. at this busy time of the year for all the serious flower farmers (of which I am not one) This forum is a wealth of information already. Go back and read all the threads first, then ask specific questions if you have any.

• flowerfarmer
    18 years ago

Tips for the day:

1. Get some rest.

2. Always be aware of your competition; but never fear competition.

3. Don't second guess yourself -- never make decisions on two hours sleep.

4. Take only the very best flowers to market -- you'll get a reputation for high quality. It's always easier to get a new customer than win back a customer who has had a bad experience with your flowers.

• Jeanne_in_Idaho
    18 years ago

Read "The Flower Farmer" by Lynn Byczynski. There are other good flowers-for-sale books but hers is a good start.

Jeanne

• sherrym
    18 years ago

1. Start small - there is so much to learn! I am in my second year, and still feel overwhelmed.

2. Per Dave Ramsey - CASH ONLY! This goes hand in hand with starting small. Don't overspend until you know what you are doing.

3. Read this forum every day. Somebody always mentions an item than is bedeviling you!

4. Ditto on the books. I especially appreciate the Alan Armatage "Specialty Cut Flowers".

5. Go to the farmer's market and speak with the other vendors. ANY other vendor. Farmers are friendly folk and can give you a wealth of information in layman's terms. They can also teach/show you how to sell, display, and create good will.