Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
krazykim_gw

Thoughts on bouquets

KrazyKim
18 years ago

I'm TRYING to post pics of two bouquets. I hope the "pro's" will give me some advice. I'll readily admit, I can grow 'em, but I'm new to arranging.

Here is a link that might be useful: You've got Pictures

Comments (6)

• susiq
    18 years ago

Kim,

You may have to repost your link. When I clicked on it, it required me to sign in w/ a password. I could try, but I doubt I'd pick the exact ones you have, LOL!

Susi.

• jansblooms
    18 years ago

Kim,
    I found that I was unable to view your photos because I'm not an AOL user. I'd love to see your photos, but unless others from this forum use AOL or one of its cooperating services, you're unlikely to get much feedback. I know how valuable those tips for design can be; I still ask more experienced designers for constructive tips every time I show my flowers. Can others out there suggest other services Kim can use so that we can all view her flowers? Thanks!

• Noni Morrison
    18 years ago

I was able to see them over aol, so here is what I see...BOuquets need more form...your taller flowers should be taller..the last few buds on a delphie only work as a filler. Also, too many things the same shape and size. Try varying them. Put in something lacey and something spikey.

I liked your foxgloves the best.

Also, if you can, pick longer stems even if it means sacrificing a few buds.

I like your colors:-)

Artists talk about "Negative space". That is the area around the main motifs. A like a bouquet to have some negative spaces too rather then a domed look.

• KrazyKim
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Thank you, LizaLily, I welcome your opinion :)

The problem with the foxglove and delphs, taller they fell around in the vase so I cut them down. Probably the floral foam would help.....yes? The other one was just a potpourri of color but I see your point about taller/frillier. I guess my problem is matching vase to flowers.