Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
steve22802

Ideas for corsage background leaves?

steve22802
11 years ago

I need to make some corsages for an upcoming wedding and I was wondering if anyone had suggestions for background foliages? I've been experimenting with peony leaves and euonymous leaves. What else works well for this purpose? This is my first time making corsages so any hints or tips would be helpful.

Thanks,

Steve

Comments (9)

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    11 years ago

Well, I have never made a corsage in my life, so take anything I say with a grain of salt! But, I am thinking of something with smaller leaves, like euonymus, which I think would hold up well without water as well. And there are many variegations in color and size to choose from.

Oh duh, I just re-read your post and see that you already mentioned euonymus! Sorry. But I still think that would work well. Perhaps caryopteris? The variegated (Snow-something?) is very pretty.

But I guess I'm having trouble with the idea of these (corsages) having to be out of water, and it seems to me like most things would wilt quickly. That's why I'm thinking evergreens - euonymus, holly, yew - would work better, although they may say "winter" or even "Christmas" to too many people.

Astilbe? Plain old forsythia? Something airy and ferny like nigella or larkspur foliage? Or Queen Anne's lace? I suppose, though, that I am thinking more of a filler than a "background"; not sure if that makes a difference.

Sorry, I guess my post has been one big thinking-out-loud session. Let us know what you decide on.

Dee

P.S. For a real "background" perhaps grape leaves might work? I was just outside ripping out some wild grape vines so they are on my brain, lol. Again, don't know how they would hold up without water. But if they worked you might be able to incorporate some of that curly vine thing they have going on too. Might be pretty.

P.P.S. Lupine leaves? Very pretty....

• steve22802
    Original Author