Return to the Cutting Garden Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
How to condition Cerinthe?

Posted by pudge 2/3 Sask (My Page) on
Tue, Jul 1, 08 at 16:26

I've got a nice row of Cerinthe I plan to cut for this weekend's bouquets, but am not sure how to treat it once cut. I've read a couple of places where it says to immerse the cut ends in boiling water for 30 seconds. It's my first time growing it and I really like it - any info/experience on this is much appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: How to condition Cerinthe?

• Posted by pudge 2/3 Sask (My Page) on
    Fri, Jul 4, 08 at 23:20

Okay, well I did a test of one stem just cut into plain water and 4 days later it still is very nice so I guess no boiling water needed.

o

Thank you, Pudge, for sharing your experience with Cerinthe. I plan to grow this next year.

Teresa

o

Tue, Jul 8, 08 at 13:25

You're welcome, Teresa. I'm very pleased with this plant as a filler and suspect it will find its way into many of my bouquets. A bouquet containing Cerinthe, soft pink Peonies, Lady's Mantle & Baby's Breath and set in preservative water is still looking very fresh today (Tuesday).

o

Pudge,

That bouquet sounds gorgeous!!

Teresa

o

Hi Pudge -
Quick question -- at what stage did you cut this? I think my cerinthe are ready...I've never grown them and planted them in May outside...they have the blue flowers, still droopy though, do they "stand up" and then they're ready? Or, are they just filler?
Thanks,
Wendy

o

Tue, Jul 29, 08 at 18:20

I've been cutting for a month so I'm sure yours must be ready. No, it doesn't stand up although it does get somewhat perkier once cooled and set in preservative water. I used it only as filler, but a lot of customers noticed it right off and asked what it was. Some really liked the little purple bell flowers. A nice plant and I'll grow it again but only about half the amount I planted this year - I didn't know it would get as big as it did.

o Post a Follow-Up