Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tuvalu713

Advice and tips on starting cutting garden now...?

tuvalu713
12 years ago

Hi,

So, I've been volunteering at a farm for the past couple months and I learned, a few weeks ago, that they'd like me to plant some flowers to sell at the farmer's market!!?! I've been doing a crazy amount of research online and especially through books...but gardenweb is always my go to source when i'm still left with questions, you just can't beat the passion or experience of your fellow gardeners. I've gardened for several years, especially various types of perennials, but I've never grown anything specifically to use as a cut flower.

So...in my research, I've concluded that, right now, Benary's Giant zinnias are a good choice. I planted some seeds this past week. Does anyone else have any other suggestions about plants that are appropriate to start now for use as cut flowers? I'm a real novice when it comes to cut flowers, though I'm excited to start, even this late in the season. Nobody sells cut flowers at market, so I think the farm is just looking to test drive how this endeavor goes. If nothing else, this will be fun...I hope!

Thank you!

mika

Comments (10)

• trovesoftrilliums
    12 years ago

Last year in our zone 5 area, autumn beauty sunflowers,a multibranching type (commonly available in big box stores) flowered within ~65 days planted late June. Procut Sunflowers a large single stemmed type, are 55-60 days but you'd probably have to order seed (Johhny's & GeoSeed carry it) which would slow things down a bit. Maybe amaranth, a quick growing celosia, cinnamon basil and cosmos.

I stongly recommend you look for The Flower Farmer by Lynn Byczynski at your local library. She's in zone 6, KS I think. Have fun! Planning NEXT years cutting garden sounds like a great way to spend the winter. :D

• tuvalu713
    Original Author
    12 years ago