Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenlover_gw

All about HYDRANGEAS

gardenlover
17 years ago

My research on hydrangeas is leading nowhere. I thought I would ask here, where people grow them and know all about them.

1. When is the proper time to cut them for longest vase life?

2. What is a good stem length?

3. Do they require any special postharvest care?

4. About how long is the vase life of a hydrangea?

Any info. appreciated. Thanks.

Comments (11)

• Jeanne_in_Idaho
    17 years ago

I've grown them for maybe five or six years, Peegee (paniculata grandiflora) only, because most of the rest won't bloom here in zone 5. Most of them bloom on wood formed the previous year. If that wood gets too severely frozen back, there are no flowers the next year. Peegee bears on new wood. My plants freeze back to a very small stub, maybe 8" tall, but the new wood grows a good 2 feet or more before blooming at the tip.

I'm no expert. Hopefully somebody who knows them better will drop in. Some of this I've learned from experience and some of it is directly from THE cut-flower book (Specialty Cut Flowers, by Armitage and Laushman).

Cut when flowers are completely open. If harvested too early, they wilt permanently.

Whatever stem length you need is a good stem length. Bear in mind that if you cut all the stems so long that there is little foliage left, the bush won't do as well next year. It needs foliage to sustain itself and grow. I generally cut some really long but then just deadhead the rest, to keep lots of foliage.