Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
joannemb

Can we talk peonies?

joannemb
12 years ago

I would like to plant 3 peony plants: One early, one mid, and one late bloomer. I love having cut flowers in the house, and thought that this might give me 3 weeks of blooms to use....

After much research I have come up with the following but am having a hard time deciding between the 2 in each category. I love the look of them all, just would like info on which ones are longer lasting or better performers. If you have any experience with one or the other I would love your opinions to help me choose! :)

Only have one early pick: Festiva Maxima

Mid: (want one white and one pink)

White-- Either Gardenia or Bowl of Cream

Pink-- Mrs. Euclid Snow or La Perle

Late: (want one white and one pink)

White-- Ann Cousins or Casablanca

Pink-- Only one (and I've decided on her for sure--Sarah Bernhardt)

Thanks for your help!

Comments (3)

• trovesoftrilliums
    12 years ago

I am just starting out growing peonies for cutting, so no personal experience yet. But, whenever I come across a reference for a peony good for cutting, I save the name. From your list, I have:
    Festiva Maxima
    Bowl of Cream
    Ann Cousins
    Sarah Bernhardt

I also have Gardenia, with a note saying for fragrance.

My list isn't very large at this point, and in no way comprehensive, but it is some input. MOst of the flowers were from a Midwest grower or Gilbert Wild's online catalog.

Good luck! :)

• Pudge 2b
    12 years ago