Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
weld_gw

Bright Light Cosmos Never Again

weld
15 years ago

This is the second year in a row that my bright light cosmos have been huge, non- blooming (or very late-blooming and insignificantly-blooming)monstrosities. I've been growing them for 20-25 years. They usually bloom mid-July till frost, and reach about 2.5-3 feet tall. I use them for fillers in the perennial border and as a wonderful cutting flower. This year and last they have just been gigantic and weed-like, completely overtaking and obscuring every other flower in the garden. Every bed I plant them in. I do not fertilize. 5-7 feet tall by season's end, with trunks as thick as two or three fingers. I've loved them so much for so many years, I can't imagine summer without them. But I won't be planting them again. Anybody else finding this?

Comments (33)

• emagineer
    15 years ago

Mine got so big last year that I had to rip half out. And it wasn't easy, they were just as you described, big stems and a root system beyond. They did bloom well and had many people stop to say they had never seen so many this big before.

I didn't plant any this year in the same place because of the rampant growth, but have a few that found their way from seeds of last. These are about 4' high and budding. Knowing we both love them, I know there are different species and wonder if we just happened upon a very large one. Or our soil is so rich they became rich too. Last year was also very rainy, this year a drought.

I love the bright orange, 6" high cosmos too. They never fail me. But our giant ones are certainly not the norm from years of experience.

• weld
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I'm glad yours at least bloomed! I don't think I'd mind so much if mine bloomed. So far this year I have one bloom on the tallest of the plants, which is a bit over 5 feet. None of the others even has any buds.