Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
tbipp

Champion Series 'Cup and Saucer'

teresa_b
14 years ago

Hello All,

I am hoping some of those more experienced than I can answer a few questions.

Will the Champion series of cup and saucer campanula bloom in year 2 after overwintering if it blooms in year 1 (the year it was planted)?

If it does not bloom in year 1, will it overwinter and bloom in year 2?

Thanks,

Teresa

Comments (7)

• l_james
    14 years ago

I'm pretty sure once it blooms that's all you get.
    Thats the way mine was. One of the best cut flowers but it was only a biannual.

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    14 years ago

Teresa, your question got me stumped, lol! I thought this plant was an annual, so I was going to answer your questions with a "no" (and a disclaimer that I am very new to this plant and additionally, haven't had much luck at all growing it!)

But I did a quick google search before answering, and now I see that it is a biennial, but has a good chance of flowering first year. So now I am truly curious as to the answer of both of your questions...

And I sure would be happy if I could get it to grow. It seems to be near impossible to find seed, and then once I finally find it, they won't grow for me!

:)
    Dee

• teresa_b
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Diggerdee,

I direct sowed some seeds and winter sowed other seeds in a 9 x 13 disposable aluminum pan (holes punched in bottom and plastic lid on top also punched). The winter sowed seeds in the 9 x 13 did fabulous. After they were a good size, I moved into my cutting garden. My problem is that the plants next to them grew much faster and shaded them out so some have not bloomed. As they have developed small blooms, I have trimmed them off hoping they would come back next year with them being biannuals. I just ordered some other seeds to start now in peat pots and plant out in September to see if that works.

Teresa

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    14 years ago