Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
les_neli

Wheel Hoe

les_neli
15 years ago

I'm looking into getting a wheel hoe and I was just wondering if anyone out there is using one. I'm debating about getting the valley oak hoe, the glaser hoe, or seeing if my Dad and I can make one this winter - the cheap side of me coming out :)

If you use one do you find it helpful? Which attachments do you have?

Thanks in advance for any help.

Comments (4)

• lgslgs
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I recently got the Glaser wheel hoe and the three tined cultivator for it. It's incredible.

I'm not a professional grower but I'm expanding my flower gardens to 3000 square feet, in two beds with 12 rows in total.

I used the wheel hoe to turn the lawn into garden. First I scored the turf with a mantis tiller. Then I worked out the turf clumps bit by bit with the wheel hoe using the three tined cultivator attachment. I let the bed rest for a few weeks, and then raked and stacked the dead and dying grass shreds for several weeks to let them break down a bit.

While the grass was cooking down in piles, I used the 8 inch oscillating hoe attachment to work the soil and cultivate down to about 6 inches depth - coaxing out rocks and tree roots as I cultivated.

A few weeks later I came back and raked the partially composted dead grasses over the surface of the soil. Right now they are just sitting there on the surface, dried off. Next I'll gently re-cultivate the whole area every 3 - 4 weeks until the ground freezes to turn the organic matter back into the soil. One or two gentle turnings in the spring and I'll be ready to plant.