Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marthacr

help with Zinnias

marthacr
13 years ago

I have been marketing my bouquets for over ten years, but I have never had good luck with zinnias. They seem to be a real winner and mainstay for so many of you on this forum. Mine either are attacked by mildew/fungus or the stems are misshapen or bent due to falling over or bending towards the sun or the stems are too short. I have tried a couple of different varieties including Oklahoma, Benary's mix, and Yoga.

Could you all share what you do to manage the funguses and some planting techniques to manage the shape of the plants?

Thanks,

Martha

Comments (4)

• thinman
    13 years ago

Speaking only for myself, I think it's dumb luck that my zinnias tend to do well. I say that because I don't do anything special to them - just full sun, watering with drip irrigation when it's dry, and a sprinkle of fertilizer once or twice during the summer. I do get some fungusy-looking leaves on maybe a quarter of the plants, but even those plants keep on choogling and still produce pretty good flowers. I see that you're in zone 5 in Maine, so high humidity is probably not a big issue for you.

It seems that every so often I see a post here or there on the web by someone who says the same thing you do - zinnias just don't do well for them. Other than maybe having especially fungus-ridden soils, there often doesn't seem to be any obvious reason for it. If there was, I'm sure you would have figured it out by now.

Do you have any major fungus problems with any other flowers? Do you do sprinkler watering?

Sorry I can't be of more help, Martha. Maybe someone smarter can chime in.

ThinMan

• marthacr
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Do you have any major fungus problems with any other flowers? Do you do sprinkler watering?