Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gardenlady48_gw

pitch or save???

gardenlady48
18 years ago

Hello, I am very new to Dahlias. I grew them last summer here in Illinois and fell in love with the planst for the first time. However,I think I messed up. I dug up the tubers, put them in a 5-gal bucket in the garage where they have been ever since. I realize now I did not take proper care of the tubers. Should I just throw them away and start over buying new ones this late winter? Or will them hydrate and grow again? Also, is it true you can plant these tubers deep enough to survive zone 5/6 in Illinois? Thanks so much in advance!

PM

Comments (14)

• jamlover
    18 years ago

Are they competely shriveled and dry?? Have they been stored in freezing temps? Freezing would be a killer for sure. If not completely dried up you might salvage them. Our would you class them as half shriveled? Once they dry out it's practically impossible to hydrate them again.

Where are you in Illinois??? I'm near Dubuque in Iowa. We could be almost neighbors. Anyway Illinois is as close to home as I have found on the forum.

• bigcityal
    18 years ago

I will agree with Jam on that they might still be good, as long as they look good - no shrivelling or mold. If they froze I am not sure what that would visually look like. To be safe I guess I would store them a bit warmer and start them out in pots until you can tell in the spring.

• Poochella
    18 years ago

If they froze they would be mush. Or partial mush, or mush contained in tuber skin until you go to pick it up; generally darker in color than a healthy tuber and possibly foul smelling.