Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sarahbarah27

How to choose!?

sarahbarah27
16 years ago

I am new to Dahlias. I live in zone 5 NY, and want to choose Dahlia tubers that will do well in my zone and are easy to store. I have a walk in cooler i can store them in at set at 45*. Does anyone have any suggestions on which Dahlias to choose? Thanks!

Sarah

Comments (3)

• sturgeonguy
    16 years ago

Every tuber I've bought from Swan Island Dahlias has done well, and I'm north of you. They're north of both of us, so they're grown to suit our climates.

As for "easy to store", not sure what your criteria is. I had 5 varieties which didn't sprout this spring...China Doll, Orchid Lace, Zorro, Peaches & Dreams, and Pineland's Pam. I think China Doll, Orchid Lace, and Pineland's Pam were my fault for not leaving enough stem material on each tuber when I divided them. Peaches & Dreams has very long, spindly tubers and I believe the necks were simply too small to survive. They either broke or shriveled up.

Part of the problem was that I didn't dig them up properly. I should have left them in the ground for a week or two after cutting the stalk in the fall; this would have promoted eyeing up and would have made it easier for me to figure out where to cut the tubers.

This year I am going to grow pot tubers. A cutting will be put into a 4" pot and will grow in that all season. This way itÂs easier to lift them in the fall, and I'm told they eye-up much better this way. I store my tubers in a refrigerator which will be much easier with a bunch of 4" pots.

Cheers,
    Russ

• sarahbarah27
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thanks for the reply! Will you store them right in their pots? OR will you take them out and store them in vermiculite, or something similar?

Do you have any favorites that you would suggest? I think I am going to try the Dinner Plate Dahlias, they look pretty cool.

Thanks again
    Sarah

• sturgeonguy
    16 years ago