Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luckygrower

Loose Tuber Planting?

luckygrower
16 years ago

I just planted Dahlias for the first time in pots to get a jump start on the season. There were detacthed tubers (not on the main clump). I threw them in with the pots along with the main cluster. Will single tubers grow? Should I plant them seperately next time?

Comments (2)

• sturgeonguy
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

I've been doing a lot of research about pots and dahlias since the fall. This means I have zero experience other than what Ive read others say, and what success I have had this year so far. So take this for what itÂs worth.

First, to your specific question. Dahlias as usually started from a single tuber. That means that it is a tuber with a neck and crown material from an original clump. If you have clumps now, you can see the crowns at the top of each tuber neck where the old stem is. They appear as slightly swollen portions of the neck. This is where the "eyes" form, and eyes become sprouts, which become dahlias. Each tuber can have many eyes, and produce many sprouts. So each clump has the potential to produce many single dahlia plants that will all bloom this season like your clump did last year.

If your single tubers donÂt have necks, or donÂt have crown material around the neck or the neck is broken, then they wonÂt produce anything but roots. A dahlia that produces tons of roots will be totally without flowers if it doesnÂt have a crown that produces eyes.

So letÂs assume they do have intact necks, crowns, and eyes are formingÂ

Putting them together with the clump in the pot is no problem. Every eye in the pot will likely produce a sprout, whether itÂs part of the clump or not.