Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mamabear86

So new to planting it isn't funny questions.

Mamabear86
10 years ago

Ok so I am not good at growing anything. I have killed my share of everything from trees to flowers and a cactus. Anyway we just moved into our new home and we wanted to plant something. We went to lowes and got three packages of Dahlias. Neither of us know anything about them but I don't want them to die. So here I am asking questions that will probably be annoying. Sorry ahead of time ;-). Ok so first question is we planted the tubers

Comments (10)

• linaria_gw
    10 years ago

Hi mamabear,
    what zone are you in?

As a rule of thumb you plant them when the soil is warm enough for tomatos.

IME you can chop the tops off when they are about kneehigh, if you want bushier plants,

After that only if they get too lanky.

The tubers may take some time to start growing, one or two weeks, if it is warm enough.

Perhaps others chime in

Oh, did you put in stakes already?

Enjoy your first Dahlias,

Bye, Lin

• symi77
    10 years ago

Hi Mamabear86 ,
    If SC means you live in South Carolina it's a little early to plant Dahlias .
    Because we will still have some cold nights.
    Best time to plant them is after April 5th when soil is warm enough.

• Mamabear86
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you both. Yes by SC I do mean South Carolina. Ops. And no I haven't put the stakes in yet. I wasn't sure if I should do that before or after they started to grow. I had no information on this flower before I planted them expect what was on the package. So I may have made a few mistakes. Thanks for all of y'all's help.

• ms_xeno
    9 years ago

Hi, Mamabear. I just bought my first Dahlias as well so maybe we can keep our fingers crossed for each other. I have one small patch of yard that comes close to getting full sun all day, so that's where I'll be trying mine out.

• gardenper
    9 years ago