Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linda_msu

Starting dahlia tubers in pots.

linda_msu
17 years ago

It took me a while, but I'm a newbie, and I searched for very specific info on starting my dahlia tubers ahead in containers before planting in my garden. Just thought others could use this info(with pictures!) I found on http://www.dahlia.org/seasonal.guides%20in%20Pots.html

Linda

Comments (14)

• Poochella
    17 years ago

I've had that article bookmarked for a couple years and her advice worked well. Never had pictures before, that I recall. I hate the part about drilling holes and running wires crosswise through a big pot, but I did it. Wires and I don't see eye to eye. I'm not convinced that you'd need to absolutely provide crosswires to support a pot stake, but it sure didn't hurt. With 3 ft varieties or less, they could easily be skipped.

Thanks for the reminder for a good article.

Here is a link that might be useful: Pot growing link made easy

• Poochella
    17 years ago

Pitimpanai of Chicago fame had good luck using willow branches in a teepee/tripod formation for potted dahlias. Is that too rustic? I like a green painted rebar post- just don't lean over and put your eye out on a shorter one.

• purpleflowerlover
    17 years ago

Poochella, I am also a fan of green painted rebar and was also worried about putting my eye out on the shorter ones, especially since I'm in the garden a lot at dusk or even later using lights when it gets too hot during the day! I've found that impaling small round childrens bouncing balls on the tops of the short ones works well. I have even used the whiffel balls (the ones with holes in them) on top of the taller ones and when an early frost threatens, it's alot easier to throw blankets over them without having the blankets tear from the weight.

• nancyd
    17 years ago