Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
redpeony_gw

too many stems emerging

redpeony
16 years ago

I am rather new to dahlia, only planting them once before. Last time I planted them straight outside in the spring so they didn't have a very long bloom time here in my zone, and I also didn't really look at every bit of growth that the plants did. This year I am trying to start some indoors to get a head start, and I am trying to follow some of the hints from this forum. I bought a couple of bags of tubers from Costco (cheap since they are mostly likely going to be annuals for me), and tried to pot some of them up. About 3 weeks ago I planted 2 tubers, and then yesterday I planted 8 more. Now all I did was take the tuber clump out of the peat and plant it in the soil according to the directions on the bag. I chose to plant those two particular tubers because they each had one 3-4 inch sprout started already. The one plant has one nice stem, and I have now pinched it out at 4 leaf pairs. The other tuber however sent up 4 stems in a really small space. I did pinch these out as well at 4 leaf pairs, but now I am wondering if I should completely remove some of the stems? I didn't look for eyes when I planted them, I just assumed that since they each had one sprout, then they each had one eye (you know what they say about assume....) Don't sellers of dahlia tubers divide the dahlias so their stock goes further? It's a litte late now that I have 10 pots planted, but what should I do for the future?

Janet

Comments (3)

• Poochella
    16 years ago

If you want to go with the "one-stem-healthier-flowers-tubers theory" than just cut off a couple of the 4 stemmed plant stems. They will probably regrow a time or two, but just cut them off again.