Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jamie_mt

Starting Dahlias - all wrong?

jamie_mt
16 years ago

Greetings, all. I'm a newbie to dahlias, and was rushing to get some tubers my husband bought planted last weekend. Then I came here to read, and apparently I've done it all wrong...

I didn't have proper-sized pots, the tubers were too big for the empty 6 inch pots I had on hand, so I grabbed two 10 inch pots and did three tubers to each pot instead. Then I watered them lightly, and left them out in the greenhouse.

Now I've read that they're very difficult to separate when started together, and perhaps I shouldn't have watered them much, for fear of rot and to stimulate roots? I also covered the tubers, and perhaps I shouldn't have done that either, from reading here.

So my question is, now that I'm more knowledgable, can I unpot the tubers and repot them more suitably without harming them? A couple were sprouted in the bag already, which is why I was rushing to get them potted. Those two have leaves that are starting to open up at the top of the soil. What I'd like to do is cut some milk jugs in half, line them with newspaper, and then take the tubers out of the big pots, planting them one each in the jugs to grow on instead, so the roots don't get all tangled up together, and so I'll be able to transplant them outside more easily with the paper lining.

They've been potted since last Sunday - would repotting them to more suitable "accomodations" be okay at this point?

I'm also a bit confused at how much water I should be giving them...keep the soil damp? Don't water until I see more growth? Water but let dry thoroughly in between?

Any suggestions or advice you could give would be most appreciated - my husband's dad grows dahlias, but he starts them in the ground, and we wanted to get a jump on the growing season by starting ours in the greenhouse this year. Thanks in advance - I'll keep reading as well! :-)

Comments (6)

• sturgeonguy
    16 years ago