Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
califox_gw

New to Dahlias and tubers. Please help!

califox
11 years ago

Hi there,

I am new to planting dahlias and tubers in general but want to have a go at it. I originally thought I would start my tubers in pots but have seen some forums that make me doubt whether or not this will work. I have one small spot where I could put them in the ground but I am fighting off ivy in the area and not sure how this would work. I really not even know how to prepare soil for this kind of gardening.

Anybody have success in pots? If so, how big of pots and how many tubers per pot?

Any advice whatsoever would be much appreciated.

PS. i am in zone 9, northern california

Comments (6)

• teddahlia
    11 years ago

Growing dahlias in pots can be very frustrating as they require so much attention. Plants in the ground do not need to be watered every day and sometimes twice per day as do dahlias in pots. Smaller varieties do ok in pots and the pot needs to be at least 5 gallons. Tree pots of 30 or more gallon size work best. A pot buried part way into the ground is an excellent solution. The pot can be much smaller and even gallon sized pots work well. One commercial cut flower grower in Northern California grows all his very many dahlias in partially buried pots.

• davidinsf
    11 years ago

Califox

I live in San Francisco and have about 15 dahlias in different sized pots. So they can grow well in pots but Ted is correct - it takes more work AND by far the most important thing is size of the pot and soil.

Firstly, only one tuber per pot unless you have a huge 14 inch pot and want to try growing a low dahlias (3') IN FRONT of a larger dahlia (4 1/2 -5 '), which I have done with success. Assuming you only have 1 to a pot, my advice is make the pot as large as possible (at least 8" and preferably 10-12") and use a combo of potting soil and regular garden soil.