Return to the Dahlia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what does a new dahlia look like?

Posted by fivefootmenace (My Page) on
Sun, Apr 18, 10 at 17:07

I got lucky and had a friend give me tons of dahlia dinner plates for free...however I'm totally new at gardening and have actually never seen a dahlia before. My dog dug up some of the dahlia tubers when I first planted them and I'm nervous they won't come up...when they do what are they supposed to look like and how long do they take to start showing?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what does a new dahlia look like?

there's lots of websites out there that have good pictures of dahlias. The Colorado Dahlia Society is one of the best. There's also lots of info in the photo album called From Seed to Dahlia in Pictures at this site.

Here is a link that might be useful: dahlia care & culture

o

Well if I planted them 3 weeks ago should I see something or do they take a while to sprout? I've tried to look up info on what to expect and I may be searching the wrong way. How long should I wait and how do I know if the tuber is no good (nervous my dog successfully killed them)? If she did kill the. I would want to replace them or plant something else in their place but I don't know if they're just doing there thing and I'm being terribly impatient (I'll blame that on being a newbie)

o

Menace,
You don't say what zone you're in, or if you saw evidence of eyes/growth shoots when you planted prior to the canine excavation caper. Dahlias will sit idle and be prone to rot in cool, damp soil. Some varieties are slower than molasses to show up. So those are variables to consider on when to begin worrying.

If I have neighboring dahlias up and doing well, and a laggard among them, I'll gently dig up the slow/no show and usually find a dahlia in trouble, generally rotting. Those can be doctored and saved in many cases, sometimes not.

Did you plant outside and what USDA Zone are you in?