Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marcy55_gw

shriveled dahlia tubers

marcy55
14 years ago

Stored dahlias according to instructions in a cardboard box, each one seperated from the other with newspaper and in shavings. Stored in my garage in a cupboard. Just took them out for a look and all of them shriveled up, No odors. Help!!! I am new to this gardening thing and I am so upset that I may of ruined these.

Comments (27)

• mariana2007
    14 years ago

I planted my shriveled dahlias last week. I stored mine the same way like yours. They started to grow roots already. I planted them in a big transparent plastic box and I can see the roots through the box.

• Poochella
    14 years ago

Call the lifeguard, PD! Depending on local humidity and storage medium, you really need to check those tubers several times through the winter and add moisture or air out as needed. I have a few that are shriveled to a degree, but I don't worry about it- if they want to live, they'll grow. I never really found that soaking shriveled tubers did much good: once they lose their interior moisture it's hard to get it back unless new roots can take over and form new tubers to support the growth. That's my thinking, anyway.

• homemommy
    14 years ago

It really depends on just how far gone they are. I have not become a pro at the art of storing tubers, I had some with minimal care make it through the winter, others not so much. It seems the ones I did the least prep too, ended up doing the best.

I have planted some pretty nasty tubers in the past however and was rewarded with very nice plants....

• pdshop
    14 years ago

I didn't leave them in the pool. There is just water in there now. I thought they might plump up. I don't have the space to pput them in the ground. I havee to know if they will work. Our weather in MA. has been so whacky . 70 degrees for over a week. Things are flowering. I know we will get another bout of cold weather so I am waiting.

• keriann_lakegeneva