Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
killerv

Dahlias breaking soil! But a question....

killerv
14 years ago

I'm new to them, all of my dahias seem to have a few stalks. Do I keep the strongest one or do I treat each like a "different" plant, do I just let them all come up and pinch them when it when they have the right number of true leaves? thanks.

Comments (6)

• sturgeonguy
    14 years ago

To get the truest flowers (i.e. nearest to the stated size, color, form) it is best to have a single stemmed plant at the ground. It is also good to dis-bud and de-branch, but that's another story.

I was introduced to dahlias by a friend who simply yanked tubers off a very large clump and pushed them into the ground by hand. Those grew without any tending, and had many stems from the ground. They were beautiful, and had many flowers. However I had no reference...nobody knew what variety they were or how large the flowers were supposed to be. Ergo I had no idea whether the flowers suffered as a result.

Now that all my dahlias are carefully chosen and labeled, I pursue flowers as close to ideal as I can get. For me, this begins with a single stem from the ground. More than one stem means multiple full plants would try to live in the space one needs. I use the formula that a dahlia needs a clear circle area the diameter of the height of the plant to thrive. This lets air and moisture get to all parts of the plant, and allows me to move around it to take flowers and tend the plant (dis-bud/de-branch.) If two stems are left to grow from the single tuber each will suffer. But again, it doesn't mean they won't grow.

Pick the stem that seems to be the best. That might be the tallest, the thickest, the best formed...no need to choose until they are all 10" - 12" tall. I would suggest you pinch them just below the lowest set of branches that are above ground. This will, hopefully, prevent them from causing even more sprouts to occur.

Cheers,
    Russ

• killerv
    Original Author