Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
portia_gw

So tempted...

portia
9 years ago

This is my first year growing and I have about 18 tubers already started in 4inch and 1gal pots that I'll be planting over the next 2 weeks (some are already 8-12" tall!). You'd think that maybe I would just be content with those to start...but nope. The online sales of slashed pricing are so tempting right now, especially since I can get lilies and other spring bulbs now too at discount pricing.

I just hope the tubers can get here in enough time to get them going without losing too much of the growing season and that they are viable!

Comments (9)

• cinnie0 (z 9b / So Cal)
    9 years ago

Please tell which sites are having good sales!!

• portia
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Well, I know not everyone loves some of the online non-specialty shops because they can be hit or miss; but Van B is having clearance as is Hirt's. Also my local Lowes had a fair amt of dahlia bulbs at 50-75% off--I got some of my fastest to sprout tubers from them earlier this year so figured why not give a try!

Looks like I missed the Brent and Becky sale as they are all sold out. I'm also checking out Connell's but they aren't necessarily on sale, just have a good selection left it seems.

• dahliafever
    9 years ago

Got an email from Swam Island today - they have a 30% off clearence sale starting today until early June.

Also check out dahlias.net for the local State Dahlia Society tuber/plant sale. This might be the most cost effective way. In addition, if you buy the plant from the Society, you are supporting a group that LOVES Dahlias, and, you save 3-4 weeks of growing time! Good luck.

• portia
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I *just* missed my local sale by a week and a half...too busy to look it up, fail! Was tempted to email them and see if they had anything left to sell.

Was the Swan Island email needing a coupon code or an email link, I don't see anything marked down on their site.