Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dahlia_newbie

Dahlias in Texas...Advice?

dahlia_newbie
15 years ago

I am new to dahlias...I guess that's obvious from my name...I ordered ten different varieties from a farm in Michigan, who said that the plants would grow here, but to protect from the heat of the afternoons here if possible. I planted them next to my house, facing North, in a slightly raised bed. Amended the soil which had been producing stellar elephant ears for several years with some aged manure, planted eye-side-up, mulched, and waited. I was warned about slugs, so I've put down slug bait/poison in the vicinity, and haven't noticed any nibble-holes in the leaves...It's been three weeks, and all tubers have sprouted - between 3" and 8" tall now. Unfortunately, I don't think they are getting a full day's sun where I planted them. They get about 4 strong hours, and filtered sun before and after that. Will they still bloom? I hate to have goten so excited to get 3' tall bushes with no flowers...Is there something I should be doing now besides watering and watching anxiously? I work till after dark most days, so I rush home and stare at them using a flashlight every night...haha...All are supposed to have 2-4" blooms, and grow 3-4' tall. How long will it take to see buds? TIA.

Comments (7)

• Poochella
    15 years ago

It sounds like you've done all you can. 4 hours of sun would be a very minimum, but the only way to see if it's enough is to see what happens with your plants. I have grown many in only 5 hours of sun and they do just fine.

Length of time to bloom depends on the variety- anywhere from 60-120 days is the general information.

3 footers would do very well in pots too. That way you could move them to a sunnier spot perhaps.

• dahlia_newbie
    Original Author
    15 years ago