Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
midwifeliz_gw

Dahlias in Pots seem stunted

MidwifeLiz
12 years ago

Hey everyone

My dahlias are looking beautiful this year. I even have a lot of buds already on my in-ground sown tubers. However my potted tubers seem stunted or something. I have 6 pots of dahlias growing in pots, i've never done them in pots before and at first they were growing great. They look wonderful, nice and healthy, tons of growth and bushy but they have kinda stopped growing at about 18-24 inches. In the past these tubers were always 4-5 feet. Are they root bound? Should I transplant them into the earth? Any thoughts or suggestions?

Liz

Comments (5)

• simonk
    12 years ago

How bit are the pots? I had 4ft Dahlias in wide 5 gallon pots and they weren't big enough. Its not so much getting root bound as you need to water very frequently to keep the soil moist. Now have them in 12 gallon pots and that seems maybe a bit bigger than necessary, but they're no longer wilting at mid-day.

• MidwifeLiz
    Original Author
    12 years ago

hmmmm. maybe they aren't getting enough water but they never wilt. i do give them quite a lot of water. perhaps the pots are too small. maybe i'll try transplanting the ones in smaller pots and see if that helps.

• simonk
    12 years ago

Its quite a bit hotter and drier here than it is where you are, plus my containers are on patio that probably reflects some heat, so your symptoms may well be different.

• davidinsf
    12 years ago

For what my 2 cents is worth, here it is.

I have about 25 dahlias in the ground and about 25 in pots. My experience (and most dahlia and rose vets will say the same) is that potted plants NEVER seem to do as well as in- ground plants do. But they can do fine anyway and bloom just fine.

My question would be are you feeding them? And if so, with what?