Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
linlily

To Grow In Pots

linlily
9 years ago

I have some Dahilas that are growing in small pots right now and rather than plant them in the ground, I'd like to put them in large pots for the summer. These are the large size flowers/plants and not pot dahlias, which I already have growing and blooming in a large rectangular planter.

What size pot should I use for these tubers, which as I said already have some leaves on them? Please use diameter measurement. I have lots of different size pots that are available for me to use.

Thanks for your help,
Linda

Comments (8)

• riamitchell
    9 years ago

Hi linlily. It's my very first time to grow Dahlias. I have planted some in the ground and some in the 18" and 20" flower pots. They are doing so well and are blooming now. I live in northern MD.

• linlily
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for your response, riamitchell. About how deep did you plant the tubers? And did you plant one tuber/plant per 18 inch pot?

Linda

• riamitchell
    9 years ago

Hello linlily. I planted each about 4" deep in each flower pot. So far some of them have started blooming.

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    9 years ago

It does depend on the dahlia size. I have Harlequin (8-10" tall) zinnias in 4" pots and they do OK. They do better in 8" pots.

For taller dahlia, like the photo above, I'd go 12" absolute minimum, 18" preferable.

And yep, 4" deep is great. I find that the Harlequin do well at the surface, larger dahlia do better a bit deeper--I usually plant around 2" to 3" deep, but 4" really is a better idea to make it more sturdy.

Since, like me, you can't leave them out for the winter, depth won't matter for freeze protection. You can store the entire pot for the winter if you want (I've had great luck doing that in the cellar) and just put outside and moisten a bit when temperatures rise in May.

• linlily
    Original Author
    9 years ago