Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ichorica_gw

Not growing...

ichorica
9 years ago

Hi another newbie here,.

My dahlias got started 6 weeks before planted did great in 2 gallon pots. I moved them to my garden about a month ago and tge are just hanging out not getting bushier or taller. I snipped the center before transplanting as i read but nothing has occurred. One dahlia even has a bud on it (should i snip it?) but is short but read it will get 3-5 feet.

I used a 0-10-10 fertiziler so far, any other suggestions?

Comments (7)

• teddahlia
    9 years ago

Wrong fertilizer. The man who invented the process for making nitrogen fertilizer won the Nobel prize. Your fertilizer has none of the most important plant nutrient of all: nitrogen. It may be comparable to a human diet of only fats and sugars and having no protein. How well would you do on that diet?

• davidinsf
    9 years ago

To add to Ted's comments, once the dahlia is up and growing (at least 6 inches high), I blast them with Miracle-Gro, which some growers will say is bad. Reason being, the percentage of nitrogen is some 27%. (vendors say NOT to give dahlias nitrogen when just breaking the ground and many people think that means NEVER give them nitrogen) Plus, my snooty 'garden store' says using Miracle gro on ANY PLANT is like giving it steroids. We'll I l USED to not use Miracle Gro and my dahlias were not very vibrant. I use it now about every 3-4 weeks and my dahlias are abundant and bright colored.