Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
parad0x

Ants Attracted To Dahlia (I'm a Dahlia newbie)

parad0x
18 years ago

I bought a cheapie tuber at Wal-Mart, and it's actually growing quite well (I think). Never planted dahlia before, so I'm not sure how well it really is ;) I've noticed that the main stalks have tons of ants crawling all over it, down inside the center etc. I don't really notice the ants bothering any of my other plants. Is dahlia foliage especially attractive to ants or something? Just seems kinda odd...never saw that before in my garden.

Thanks!

Todd In Philly

Comments (8)

• Poochella
    18 years ago

I think ants aren't widely known as a pest to dahlias. I had ants one year and sure enough they were going after aphids which lined the stems and stalks of a couple plants. Have you checked for green or black aphids?

I don't know what to tell you to do, sorry. But if it is aphids, you can pretty easily take care of them with a brisk squirt of water ( support the plant if you shoot it with the hose, so you don't break the poor thing.) I used a stream from a trigger squirt bottle and that worked too.

• kneecop
    18 years ago

My guess is aphids too - the ants like to farm them. Also you didn't mention if they were in a pot, but if so ants seem to take residence in my pots that have dahlias in them...

• island_garden
    16 years ago

Trying my first dahlia, it's in a container and I just repotted it - and discovered that the soil is full of ants - you (Kneecop) mentioned this is common, but is it something I should be dealing with? Are the ants harmful at all? I think we had an aphid problem but washed the plant last week and they seem to be gone and the plant seems to be slowly improving. Any advice appreciated.

Thanks.

• huey_ga
    16 years ago

You need to get rid of the ants as they will chew the stalk in to if they are left alone. I have lost a few plants over the years in this manner from ants.

• island_garden
    16 years ago