Return to the Dahlia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
New to Oregon and Dahlias

Posted by lodi zn8 OR (My Page) on
Sun, Jul 23, 06 at 11:18

Hello All, I moved to Vernonia, OR a year ago so I am new to gardening in this climate. I had a disasterous winter as I underestimated the cold and lost a lot of container plants. I was used to climates where putting plants in the garage was enough to keep them safe. Not so here. Live and learn, that's what it's all about.

I'm also new to Dahlias (and just about every other plant I couldn't grow in Arizona :o) and I'm worried about how small the plants are. I probably planted them late but I guess I thought they would grow faster. If there is anyone from the Vernonia area who could give me a timetable, it would be greatly appreciated.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: New to Oregon and Dahlias

When did you plant them exactly, and how tall do you expect them to get? Dahlias can range from the little tiny foot tall varieties to towering giants 6+ft high.

Welcome to the great NW!

o

• Posted by lodi zn8 OR (My Page) on
    Mon, Sep 4, 06 at 14:05

Hi Poochella,
I got distracted by making a living. I had to teach some classes in August and preparing and traveling used up the month. Fortunately, in the meantime, my dahlias kept on growing. Even the ones I stupidly planted on the NE side of the garage.

None are the "towering giants" but doing well enough to give me some lovely blooms and make me want to buy more next spring.

Where are you in WA? How close is your climate to Vernonia? We had some very cold days that included about 6" of snow in early December. I have a water garden in a tub and there was at least 4" of solid ice on top of it. I'm told it was a fairly typical winter.

o

Hi, well work certainly puts a crimp on gardening doesn't it? If you've got blooms then you are a success, no matter the height. 4 ft is average for the taller varieties, I guess.