Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
atl0511

Limp & dying Dahlias!

atl0511
11 years ago

This is my first time planting Dalias, and I planted 8 tubers total in the Spring. I amended my clay soil with perlite and potting soil (I amended it pretty deeply, probably 3 ' down and 18" wide) for each tuber, and I got 6 to sprout. They are all doing fine except for 2 of them, one being Sr. Ball and I don't have the name of other one in front of me. They were doing great one day, then the Sr. Ball started to droop, then within 1-2 days went completely limp! The Dalia next to it was fine, but then a few days later started to look the same, first drooping and then went limp as well. I can't figure out what went wrong. I figure these are probably gone, but I would like to not repeat this with my other healthy Dahlias.

Evidence of the disaster:

{{gwi:644777}}

{{gwi:644778}}

{{gwi:644779}}

{{gwi:644780}}

I knew it was going to get hot, so I mulched, but I don't think that is what did them in. I water deeply once a week, and they got some water when I turn on the sprinklers for my grass (twice a week but they don't get much water from this at all). I also fertilize every three weeks with a fish emulsion type fertilizer.

Now, 5 days later, the leaves are dead but the stems are still green...The two down the row from these are still doing fine and don't appear to have any of the same problems! Is there someone out there that can identify what went wrong?

Comments (6)

• atl0511
    Original Author
    11 years ago

I meant to say above that the first two photos are before photos, the second two are the after photos!

• hnycrk
    11 years ago

Im sure it was most likely the heat we've been having that lead to there death. Dahalies can also get bacterial wilt.

• davidinsf
    11 years ago

Others may disagree but...

When I saw the wilted dahlias, I immediately said "They Need WATER". It is possible something else is happening but here why I say that.