Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ladybugsmom192

stems too weak? please help

ladybugsmom192
13 years ago

hi there, i'm a new dahlia owner/lover and i'm a bit nervous about it.

i have a huge one about 3 ft, with white/cream colored flowers and the stems seem to be too weak to support the new flower buds/ball growth. is this normal?

although i'm new to growing dahlias, it doesn't seem right that they'd need staking so soon in the process. the flower buds aren't big at all, less the largest ones are no bigger than a quarter to a half an inch.

is there anything i should be aware of or be doing? i am planning on staking them once i get them in teh ground, which i don't as of yet. heading out there now....

angela

Comments (8)

• keriann_lakegeneva
    13 years ago

Did you start them in part shade? They may have stretched a bit to find the light. And it all depends on variety, some of mine have very stocky stems and some have thin stems. I stake all of mine and I am trying a few with the tomato cage method this year in my cutting garden.

Good luck!

Keriann~

• ladybugsmom192
    Original Author
    13 years ago

thanks kariann!

since you've mentioned sun, i think that's the problem!! we had a heatwave tear going on for the first few weeks after i got the dahlia, and she didn't do well, so i panicked and moved her to the shade under my maple tree where she's been ever since.

it makes since now - the stems are reaching for the sun! i even have some blooms laying on the ground!! i better get her to the sun and quick!

i really want to get her in the ground, not a planter, but the only area that gets good sun, primarily gets pm sun and i'm not sure at all that she can handle that...CAN SHE?

i have no idea what she is, i got her from my local home depot and there was no tag. it was love at first site.
    thanks again

angela

• gardenerme
    13 years ago