Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sturgeonguy

Too much water, or not enough?

sturgeonguy
15 years ago

I know everyone has been getting a lot of rain this season, but to be honest, I'm not getting that much. Being on the side of a lake tends to alter the weather somewhat. We keep having significant thunderstorms roll through, but the actual rainfall left behind isn't a lot. Then it gets hot again and we go another 3-4 days without any rainfall.

I put out a bowl to try and get an idea of how much rain I was getting, and after a really big thunderstorm, there was ~1/2" in it. That doesn't seem like a lot of water for 3-4 days.

Just what are the water requirements for Dahlias? Or what would you think would be ideal? I could put my sprinklers on, but haven't because I thought I was getting a lot of water via the rain.

Cheers,

Russ

Comments (3)

• dahlia_newbie
    15 years ago

Well, Russ,

I am a newbie as you know, and I'm sure that this answer won't be nearly exact enough for you, but I read somewhere lately that dahlias are a "thirsty plant". I took that to mean that they might need more than just rainwater, and should be kept moist most of the time. But they also like well-drained soil, so they like to have a lot of water, but have it drain away quickly? I guess that keeps the tuber from rotting? Then again, they like the mulch for retaining moisture...all of this kind of confuses me. I really don't know. But there seems to be some pretty in depth info on Dahlia.org...

So far, mine all look happy in the moisture department, I water every third day that we don't have rain. I am more worried about sunlight and air circulation, because I think I planted mine a bit too close together, and it's so humid here that I want to make sure I don't wind up with some kind of fungus on the plants.