Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lila_newgardener

powdery mildew

lila_newgardener
16 years ago

I don't know about the rest of you in the NW, but this last "pineapple express" has left quite a few of my dahlias with a ton of powdery mildew. I am new to dahlias so I don't really know how catastrophic this is... Will it go away with time, will it kill my infected plants? I sprayed some kinda stuff on them, but I didn't do too much because I don't like using chemicals, especially when I'm pregnant. Anyone have any advise for me?

{{gwi:647657}}

{{gwi:647659}}

Comments (5)

• mingusalex2007
    16 years ago

First of all your Dahlias are very beautiful!!! I found some thing that may help you enormously (I hope). This is what I found going back to Nov 9th/05 on the message board......

Posted by raul_in_mexico 10 (My Page) on Wed, Nov 9, 05 at 14:27

I hate powdery mildew ! when the rainy season starts down here all that moisture is not good for my dahlias. But I use a simple remedy my granny taught me when mildew attacked her roses, baking soda, 2 teaspoons in a pint of water and a light spray and mildew dies in an eyeblink.

Please let us know if it works!

• theras_garden
    16 years ago

Mingusalex2007,
    Thanks so much for reposting raul_in_mexico's post. I found it absolutely invaluable for my squash veggies.

raul_in_mexico,
    Cheers to your granny for the recipe. I converted the recipe to 5Tbsp. baking soda/gallon water and it worked wonders on the heavy powdery mildew on my veggies. Sprayed every couple of days and within about 1week it was all gone. I sprayed my dahlias too as a preventative since they're next to veggie garden and no sign of any mildew.

I was concerned on the concentration of baking soda since most other recipes I've seen say a couple of "tsp" not "tbsp" per gallon. However, I haven't seen any toxic effect on the leaves of either veggies or dahlias. Recipe's a keeper!

• donaldvancouver
    14 years ago