Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dahlia_newbie

Not Enough Blooms...Suggestions?

dahlia_newbie
15 years ago

I am getting only one or two blooms per plant. Even on the few plants that I pinched earlier in the season. It's my first year, so I am sure that I didn't quite get the pinching right. Is there anything that I can do at this point to produce more blooms? The blooms I am getting are pretty healthy and have nice color. I would like to see lots more if possible. If there isn't anything I can do this year, I'd love tips for what to do for next year.

I'm due to fertilize again this week, and I can't find "Morblooms" anywhere. What does everyone like for flower production?

I read instructions on Dahlia.org on how to pinch back, and how to disbud, but it didn't make a whole lot of sense...is pinching done with the fingernails or a set of shears?

Comments (5)

• sturgeonguy
    15 years ago

I would take a minute and really look carefully at your plant, chances are you will find more buds on their way. Most Dahlias that I've grown start out with a single bloom, and once that one is done (or you cut it) start putting out multiples. As for fertilizer, I use lake water so I feel it already has enough nutrients, IOWs, I don't amend.

Last year I had a China Doll with 50 blooms on it at one time (albeit 4" blooms.) This year, a China Doll that gave me her first bloom on 7/19, now has 21+ blooms/buds on it.

The bigger the flower, the less of them, in my experience.

Patience.

Cheers,
    Russ

• sturgeonguy
    15 years ago

Here's a picture of the one I was referring to. Looking more closely, there are 28 blooms/buds on it.

{{gwi:648228}}
    BBWL: 4" diameter flowers on an 18" bush.

Cheers,
    Russ

• huey_ga
    15 years ago

I assume from your page that you live in Texas and while growing dahlias in all of that heat is tough it can be accomplished well. I started growing dahlias in San Antonio many years ago and I learned the hard way.