Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desirai_gw

What's wrong with my dahlias?

Desirai
9 years ago

Last year and this year my dahlias look sad. They are ALL deformed when they bloom (missing chunks of petals, only partly opening, petals are deformed, stunted or shaped weird) and then they turn into balls of gross in less than 24 hours.
Are dahlias SUPPOSED to do this? This is my second year having them, and they did this last year and are doing it this year so didn't know if this is normal.

{{gwi:648728}}
{{gwi:648729}}

Comments (15)

• dahliafever
    9 years ago

I am sorry to see this. It must be heart breaking to put all the effort and get this kind of a result. I am very new to growing them, so I am sure more experienced growers would chime in. May I suggest the following:

1. If you suspect any issues with the soil condition, try to grow some in containers with external soil source; apply phosporous (bonemeal or other sources) to ensure healthy flower growth.
    2. If you suspect the quality of the planting material is the issue, try new sources next year.
    3. Ensure adequate sunlight (this was one of my biggest learnings this year!) for the plants.
    4. Watch out for bugs (I don't think that is your major issue here).

My 2 cents.

Dfever

• teddahlia
    9 years ago

Herbicide poisoning from contaminated compost or grass clippings(even some potting soil has done this!)is my guess. Dahlias are especially sensitive the commercial grass herbicides. Herbicide(not Roundup as it is ok) sprayed on weeds prior to planting dahlias is also a cause as it remains in the soil for a year or two. No cure is available except that tubers will probably grow well next year if not exposed to herbicides.

• Desirai
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I definitely didn't spray herbicide...
    But the tubers were purchased from Walmart, I'm sure you know what I'm talking about.