Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
michey1st_gw

HELP! Fertilizer problem?

michey1st_gw
9 years ago

Good Morning!

This is my first year with Dahlias (in fact, i'm a pretty newbie gardener in general). I have 3 dahlias going in some large pots, and 2 of them have started flowering (HOORAY, I feel like a rock star, lol!).

Anyways, trying to be a good Dahlia mommy, I just gave them a shot of fertilizer (I was feeding the orchids so figured I would give the Dahlias a treat as well). Gosh darnit, wouldn't you know that after-the-fact, I did some googling and found that high nitrogen ferts are bad (I used 1 tbsp 30-10-10 in a gallon of water per the box instructions for "other outdoor plants") for Dahlias >.Did I just kill my plants?!? Is there something I can do to salvage the situation? Should I not worry and just don't fertilize again with the stuff? This is the first time i've fertilized the Dahlias, other than the granular osmocote I added to the potting medium.

Relatedly, (and speaking as a new gardener) this whole fertilizer thing is tough to keep straight. Seems like every plant out there has its own special formulation. Is there a magic "one size fits most" that I can use for the bulk of my perennial flowers (in ground and in pots)? I totally get orchids are special (they are my mom's first love and now that she just downsized, I ended up with her left-overs), but what about everything else in the ground?

Help!!!!

Comments (17)

• morpheuspa (6B/7A, E. PA)
    9 years ago

It won't kill them if you followed the instructions on the feed, so no worries there! You might just get a lot of greenery growth from it for a short period of time. No big deal.

I tend to use Miracle Gro, which is competitive with what you used, at 24-8-16. I grow gorgeous dahlia and gorgeous everything else.

Once a month I do put a small handful of Milorganite in all the pots. At 5-2-0 it's still high nitrogen, but mostly slow release. All my plants flourish using that.