Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
deeg_gw

Photo of my poor Dahlia

deeg
16 years ago

This is my first attempt at growing a Dahlia. I've been growing it indoors since I planted it because of the awful heat here. It had 3 stems but I accidentally broke one off. I'm trying to root it (fingers crossed).

Anyhow, I don't want to plant it outdoors until it cools off some. I've been putting it outside for a couple of hours every day to get it used to it. But it seems to just wilt out there. I hope it's going to make it. By the way, it's a Mystery Day.

Here's the picture:

{{gwi:651218}}
By dgarrand, shot with PDRM5 at 2007-08-05

{{gwi:651619}}
By dgarrand, shot with PDRM5 at 2007-08-05

Any remarks, helpful hints, ideas?

Thanks!

Dee

Comments (8)

• jroot
    16 years ago

It is quite tall and spindley. That is a sign that it is not happy.
    1) dahlias NEED sun. They won't flower without it, and won't sprout the thick lush foliage without it.
    2) they need room for their roots (tubers) to grow. I think your pot may be too small. It would have been happier in the ground.

You may lose it, but I would likely cut off the stems to about the first 3 leaf nodes above ground; plant it outside in the garden ( well drained)where there is some protection from the direct sun, but it can get the light it needs and wants; and water it well. It may not bloom for you this year, but you might get some late blooms. You may be able to get some new tubers for next year. Next year, get it out as soon as you can after frost.

• deeg
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you jroot. The news is very disheartening since I've been babying it for the last month or so.

It's REALLY HOT here right now. You don't think that will cause it to wilt and die faster, do you?

By the way, I did plant some in the ground in the early Spring (no worries of frost here), but they never came up. That's why I tried to grow them inside.