Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
trustmissy

Small tubers and barely visible eyes

The majority of the tubers I bought this year were very small and most did not have a visible eye. The supplier replaced them, and I planted all of them just to see if the ones that I considered bad were actually good. (The replacements were not much better) Only about 50% of the dahlias are blooming, and some of the ones that I thought did not have an eye are growing, but they are still very small and it is doubtful they will grow enough to produce blooms for this season. So, my question is, just how much of an eye has to be visible for the tuber to be considered good? I used a magnifying glass to look at the tubers when I got them and still could not see an eye. The supplier insisted that they did have eyes, and said that she checked them herself.

I have been growing dahlias for several years, and I have found the biggest "eyes" and best performing dahlias to be from the "Big Box" stores. Please enlighten me for my future dahlia plantings. I LOVE them.

Comments (3)

• huey_ga
    15 years ago

A commercial grower should always ship dahlia tubers with visible eyes and you were correct in requesting replacements. Size of the eye or the tuber (unless the tuber is too big) should not be a factor. Any tuber with a visible eye should grow when planted but that is not always the case.

Quality of the tuber is not always known due to virus, growing conditions from the previous season(s) and many other reasons that are unknown. Some of them just rot or won't grow even though we do every thing correctly. I plan on needing replacements in my garden based on a number of reasons and always have some plants growing in pots to use and I always need some of them each growing season.