Return to the Dahlia Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
when to dig up my dahlia roots (tubers)?

Posted by ladybugsmom192 9 - SF East Bay (My Page) on
Mon, Sep 19, 11 at 2:25

hi there!

i'm new to dahlias and am so proud of myself for starting all mine from seed this year! every last one i started survived. some are a little spindly, but are big and bushy, but again, i'm new and am learning.

so, with that said, when should i dig up the tubers (roots) to store away for winter, and how do i do it?

i'm in the san fransico bay area, the east bay, which is warmer on average then the city, and i'm on san pablo bay. powdery mildew has been a very small problem, but not really.

so i'd love to hear your recommendations!

thanks,

angela :)

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: when to dig up my dahlia roots (tubers)?

• Posted by mytime 3/4 Alaska (My Page) on
    Mon, Sep 19, 11 at 18:15

If you're truly zone 9, I don't believe you have to dig them (lucky you!).

o

oh really???! so what, just trim the stems/stalks down? what if i want to move them to another area? which i want to do because they grew much MUCH taller than i thought (they were supposed to be 'boarder' dahlias and actually grew to 2-3 feet tall and towered over my princess lillies, which got very little light this summer.

thanks!

o

• Posted by mytime 3/4 Alaska (My Page) on
    Tue, Sep 20, 11 at 14:07

For that you need more than what I know!!!

On the link, scroll down to "Leaving dahlias in the ground over winter".

Here is a link that might be useful: info for dahlias

o

Dear ladybugsmon192: I raise dahlias in Marin county, Ca. Dig
them up in early Jan. That way you can see how many more
tubers you have of each variety and the joy of the "free" expansion of your tubers is exhilarating. Be sure to label them as quickly as possible as an unlabeled tuber is a "weed". How to divide tubers is shown in pics on the internet and you have to see how its done once and then you are off.