Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pumpkiwi

Dahlia cuttings.

pumpkiwi
18 years ago

Hi all,this is my first year in growing Dahlias and I need some help,please.Do dahlias grown from cutting form tubers?because I have one that is grown by a cutting.When I removed it from the pot it did not have any tubers and all there was was a mass of roots.could I be doing something wrong?thanx for all replys!

P.S: it is flowering and i have had it for 6 months.

Comments (8)

• jroot
    18 years ago

Very strange. I would have expected them to form tubers by this time. Did they get a lot of sun? Maybe someone else can jump in on this. As I say, usually they form tubers over the summer, even from a cutting.

• pumpkiwi
    Original Author
    18 years ago

Hi all,I am so sorry!I got the wrong date,I think I have only had it for 2 months.The guy who I got the cutting from said that it will form tubers but,when I removed it from the pot,two months later, it did not have any tubers.How long will it take to form tubers?Will it form tubers in less then 2 months from now?because I will be going back to Canada next,next month.Thanx for all replys!

• plantlady2
    18 years ago

It takes cuttings all summer to form good tubers but after 2 months there should have been hints of fatter roots that would become tubers given time. Store them in the pot over the winter & you mught still get a plant in the spring.

• santiagorolland_yahoo_ca
    13 years ago

I had some experience with dahlia cuttings. For them to form tubers, I think you need the proper conditions. And these are, in my opinion, a very rich soil, and short day length. I have learned from testing that a good fertilizer in mid summer is super important for tuber development. But it is also true that long days (more than 12 hours) favor the development of feedeer roots, while days shorter tahn 12 hours favor the development of tubers.