Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
marysy_gw

Best place to order dahlia tubers for spring

marysy
16 years ago

I am fairly new to dahlias, having only grown them for several seasons. I started with some that were given to me and have been successful with digging, storage and the plants. I thought to expand my dahlia garden next spring and wanted advice from you experts as to the best place to order them, for selection and quality. Thanks

Comments (20)

• huey_ga
    16 years ago

Ferncliff Gardens in BC. Best tubers of anyone. You have to pay the AG fee from Canada but it is worth it. Corralitos is excellent for ordering cuttings that grow easily. Both on the big list.

• marysy
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Thank you for your recommendations. I ordered catalogs from your list. I had to laugh at the "big list". I had No idea. I just know that I have a red, purple, yellow and small white ones. The learning process begins. Thanks

• covella
    16 years ago

If you just want dahlias and don't care so much about the names, check out Costco in the early spring - they were selling 9 tubers for $12 last year. It turns out some of mine seem to be mislabelled, but for the amount of money I spent I'm not going to complain. If you look at local garden centers I would carefully squeeze the tubers to make sure they are firm, I've gotten really old stock from reputable garden centers.

• pdshop
    16 years ago

Check what you order as I had repeats of tubers and other tubers in colors I didn't order at all. You won't know about it until they come up . Just let them know when you order that you have heard about this type of thing.

• dahliaboy
    16 years ago