Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mctavish6

Many Pictures

mctavish6
15 years ago

I have really enjoyed looking at all your pictures and getting ideas for next year. I'm a visitor from the hosta forum. It's good timing that just when hostas are getting ready for winter the dahlias are going strong. I posted a few pictures last year. Here are some from this year.

I've grown dahlias for quite a while but my space has been restricted in the last couple years. I gave up on my old vegetable garden which was the only place sunny enough for cutting flowers. I tried to keep the tubers going and managed to save a few. Meanwhile we've extended an area closer to the house that is in sun and is slated for vegetables and cutting flowers. Only one small part is developed so far and that is where I've been growing dahlias for the last two years.

These first three pictures are of the new ones from this year. I got a collection of "smalls" which is on the bottom. These are from Swan Island Dahlia (bought at the NW Plant and Garden Show in Seattle in February). I also got a couple taller varieties from them which are in the back (top) of this area.

I bought several others which are in the middle and top/back of these pictures. These were from Connell's. Only two tubers haven't bloomed yet and that's because they were stepped on by a bear. Here are the over all garden shots.

{{gwi:659120}}

{{gwi:659122}}

{{gwi:659124}}

Comments (10)

• vikingcraftsman
    15 years ago

When can we expect bear and Dahlia shots?

• pdshop
    15 years ago

Where are you ? Beig stepped on by a bear is not something a gaardener wants to hear about. It is supposed to be a peaceful place. Reminds me of the 3 geese I would have at my back when I was trying to garden. I never knew when I was going to get it!

• sturgeonguy
    15 years ago

Really nice, I love the way your garden's laid out. Gotta love that Pineland's Pam way at the back...;-]

Cheers,
    Russ

• mctavish6
    Original Author